2019 TAME Capital Area STEM Competition Results


(Austin, TX) – The winners of the 2019 TAME Capital Area STEM Competition have been announced, but participating students are not divulging any details. Hosted at The University of Texas at Austin's Engineering Education and Research Center on Saturday January 19, 2019, the free event brought together more than 160 student competitors from across the region. 

Texas students from grades 6-12 competed in individual math and science tests and as part of a team to solve an Engineering Design Challenge. Participants have been sworn to secrecy about the Challenge – at least until March 3rd, when students across the state have had their chance to try their skills solving the same problem. This year's challenge was developed by engineers from ConocoPhillips.

The Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering (TAME) is a statewide non-profit organization dedicated to inspiring and preparing Texas students to join a strong and diverse STEM workforce. TAME programs encourage students to build skills and explore STEM concepts through hands-on activities, TAME Clubs, and statewide and divisional STEM Competitions.

The top six finishers in each test and the top three teams from the Engineering Design Challenge were recognized. Three teams also received a special Judges' Choice Award for creative problem solving. One student from each grade level was recognized as the Halliburton Ace Award Winner for the highest combined math and science score. TAME's Outstanding Senior Award, sponsored by Silicon Labs, was presented to Helen Vo, a high school senior from Pflugerville High School

Thanks to the support of TAME's 2019 Statewide STEM Competition sponsors ConocoPhillips and Halliburton, STEM Competitions across Texas are offered free of charge for all participants. We are especially grateful to TAME's 2019 Capital Area STEM Competition sponsors, FacebookSilicon Labs, and Whataburger. TAME thanks our partners and our many dedicated volunteers for celebrating achievement in STEM and making learning fun and exciting for Texas students.

More information on TAME's STEM Competitions can be found here. If you have any questions or comments, please contact the leadership for the Capital Area Chapter.

Congratulations to all our hardworking competitors! 



Remember, please DO NOT SHARE any details or pictures of the top secret Engineering Design Challenge until March 3rd, 2019 so all students across the state can enjoy the same experience at later events. If you're sharing other photos of the event, please tag TAME using #LonestarSTEM.

If you took photos at the event, please consider sharing them with the TAME State Office. We will share selected pictures on the TAME Facebook page and with corporate and university partners who have ensured that the competition is offered free of cost to participants. You can email pictures to or upload them to Google Drive here.


stemcdiv 2019 0119 capitalarea saratreviñophotos 124 12th science award edit

Photo of 12th Grade Science awardees by Sara Treviño from the 2019 Capital Area Divisional STEM Competition.

Facebook Album




1st Place2nd Place3rd Place4th Place5th Place6th Place
6th GradeLeo ZhengAllison YaoAnnika ShivamSarina GharbiDerek ChangAnagha Deepak
7th GradeEmaan ChhatriwalaAkshay SajeevJennifer DaiAditi MohankumarAmisha SaoNgoc Nguyen
8th GradeRishi KoneruKrishna GrandheShreya TiwariSara GargKavita KohliManika Aggarwal
9th GradeYe-Un GoDana KimJennifer KimShonell RowellAlice UwimanaAyaan Siddiqi
10th GradeSusanna KimArchita AmudhanJoshua HidalgoTodd TranEungyo MoonEthan Garcia
11th GradeApoorva AmudhanAfreen Alim, Janssen FangHafsah KhwajaJustin EbemBhabishya ShresthaRonaldo Villatoro
12th GradeJenny ZhangGregory BoudreauChristopher VuongDarrin NguyenChristina LiewSrija Ghosh



1st Place2nd Place3rd Place4th Place5th Place6th Place
6th GradeLeo ZhengTanvi ReddyAllison YaoDerek ChangAnagha DeepakAnnika Shivam
7th GradeBowen LiuEmaan ChhatriwalaNgoc NguyenSunmin KimAkshay SajeevMarium Halai
8th GradeBenjamin WelchRishi KoneruChinonso ObiefuleSara GargManika AggarwalJeffrey Chang
9th GradeJennifer KimShonell RowellYe-Un GoSairamana SivakumarAyaan SiddiqiDana Kim
10th GradeJoshua HidalgoEthan GarciaRoberto SalinasArchita AmudhanSusanna KimThuy-Nhu Phung
11th GradeApoorva AmudhanJanssen FangAfreen AlimHafsah KhwajaRonaldo VillatoroClaudia Katrina Fierro
12th GradeChristina LiewSrija GhoshJenny ZhangJuan Cano DuenasGabe NunezBendy Medawar



Combined Score
6th GradeLeo Zheng
7th GradeEmaan Chhatriwala
8th GradeRishi Koneru
9th GradeYe-Un Go
10th GradeSusanna Kim
11th GradeApoorva Amudhan
12th GradeJenny Zhang




1st Place2nd Place3rd PlaceJudges' Choice Judges' Choice Judges' Choice
Team 30Team 3Team 21Team 22Team 18Team 27
Amy NguyenAditi MohankumarBendy MedawarClaudia Katrina FierroBowen LiuAudrey Wu
Jacob RoblesBriana NelsonEtienne CueroCrystal LuongMuskanben VahoraHelen Vo
Krishna GrandheFelix NdaruhutseJustin EbemEmaan ChhatriwalaRyan FaxigueLalit Palepu
Leo ZhengHafsah KhwajaTrisha GovindJuan Cano DuenasSalma FooshangNgoc Nguyen
Solange Umutesi Matthew VarelaPranav RaoSara GargRudrakh DasGupta
Neil NaderSusanna KimThomas Tran

2019 TAME San Antonio STEM Competition Results
T-Shirt & Hashtag Design Contests Open

Related Posts