2016 TAME San Antonio STEM Competition Results

mscdiv t20 2016 0226 sanantoniodivisionals 142 edits

(San Antonio, TX) – The 2016 TAME San Antonio STEM Competition was hosted by St. Philip's College, Southwest Campus on Friday, February 26, 2016. The event, held free of cost to participants, brought together 85 student competitors (grades 6-12) from across the region.

Students competed in individual math and science tests and were grouped into teams to participate in an Engineering Design Challenge. This year's challenge was developed by engineers from Boeing and Iridescent. The top six students from each test and the top three teams from the Engineering Design Challenge were recognized. Three teams also received a special Judges' Choice Award for creative problem solving.

The Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering (TAME) is a statewide 501(c)(3) non-profit organization founded in 1976 that enables Texas students to pursue careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM). In addition to testing student knowledge of math and science concepts, the competition promotes teamwork, leadership, and academic achievement.

More information on TAME's STEM Competitions (formerly known as Math and Science Competitions) can be found here. If you have any questions or comments, please contact the leadership for the San Antonio Chapter.

Congratulations to all our competitors! 


Photographs have been posted to TAME's official Facebook page. Click here to view the full album.

If you took photos at the event, please consider sharing pictures of the 2016 Divisional STEM Competitions with the TAME State Office. We will share selected pictures on the TAME Facebook page and with corporate and university partners who have ensured that the competition is offered free of cost to participants.

You can email pictures to or upload them to UT Box below.

button uploadphotos


Subject1st Place2nd Place3rd Place4th Place5th Place6th Place
Middle School Math, Level 2Adrian StewartJamie ScarbroughLivia VeraJazel Frayre
Middle School Math, Level 3Nick FloresNicolas OrnelasMadison JaramilloCheyenne ReedyPayton Griffin
Algebra I, Middle SchoolJasmine JaramilloArlye DeLunaChristian Lopez-De La CruzMichael FloresGiovani Jesus MerazDeAnna Wood
Algebra I, High SchoolKelsey SeidelAmanda Solar
Geometry, High SchoolCourtney MoonIsabell R. SagarSydney R. SommersRachel E. WhiteSarah KellyMckayla D. Tate
Algebra IIFrances TrejoMichael GamezJesus CastellanosAndrea AlvarezManuel ArteagaDanielle Trevino
Pre-CalculusOscar MartinezElisabeth MedinaRachael MurphyDaniel WoodMarcelino Puente-PerezMia Santambrogio
CalculusSelena ReyesMiguel Acosta
StatisticsKaterina Laro
Comprehensive MathAlejandro Reyes


Subject1st Place2nd Place3rd Place4th Place5th Place6th Place
6th Grade SciencePayton GriffinClaudia PachecoNicolas OrnelasAmeenah WilsonCory StraubeMetheo Diaz
7th Grade ScienceJasmine ZamoraNick FloresKylie CampuzanoAdrian StewartJada ChretienVictor Pacheco
8th Grade ScienceGenesis LunaDeAnna WoodFinley FarrarEric VasquezJillian XimenezLeobardo A. Villarreal III
BiologySydney R. SommersLauren ShaferMckayla D. TateKendalyn G. LytleSarah KellyIsabell R. Sagar
AP BiologyAlejandro ReyesMargaret CavazosMikayla Horton
ChemistryMichael GamezManuel ArteagaRachel E. WhiteSirach ZamoraBailey ManriquezAndrea Alvarez
AP ChemistryMia SantambrogioHadley Wilfong
PhysicsElisabeth MedinaMarcelino Puente-PerezOscar MartinezDaniel WoodRachael MurphyDanielle Trevino
AP PhysicsFrances TrejoPaul WhiteIsaac MedinaKaydie Salazar
Anatomy & PhysiologyKaterina LaroSelena ReyesMiguel Acosta
Comprehensive ScienceMarcos Calderon


1st Place2nd Place3rd PlaceJudges' Choice Judges' Choice Judges' Choice
Against All OddsCheckersFlower PowerDynamiteT7 StudThe Paper Dragonfly
Ava PerezBailey ManriquezClaudia PachecoCory StraubeGenesis LunaFrances Trejo
Cheyenne ReedyChristian Lopez-De La CruzMargaret CavazosDanielle TrevinoJane ZinkJasmine Zamora
Katerina LaroCourtney MoonOlivia AlvaradoSergio HernandezJose Francisco De Alba Sandoval IIIJesus Castellanos
Mckayla D. TatePaul WhiteRene AguilarSydney R. SommersMarcos CalderonKendalyn G. Lytle
Sarah KellyMetheo Diaz

Photograph features the Brooks Academy TAME Club with teacher Marco Mendez. Students pictured are (in alphabetical order) Alejandro Reyes, Andrea Alvarez, Daniel Wood, Danielle Trevino, DeAnna Wood, Jesus Castellanos, Marcelino Puente-Perez, Margaret Cavazos, Mikayla Horton, Nadia Escobedo, Oscar Martinez, Paul White, Ryan Zorola, and Selena Reyes. 

By Lindsey Carmichael, February 29, 2016.

TAME Board Member's BEYA Acceptance Speech
2016 TAME East Texas STEM Competition Results