2019 TAME San Antonio STEM Competition Results


(San Antonio, TX) – The winners of the 2019 TAME San Antonio STEM Competition have been announced, but participating students are not divulging any details. Hosted at St. Philip's College, MLK Campus, on Saturday January 19, 2019, the free event brought together more than 200 student competitors from across the region. 

Texas students from grades 6-12 competed in individual math and science tests and as part of a team to solve an Engineering Design Challenge. Participants have been sworn to secrecy about the Challenge – at least until March 3rd, when students across the state have had their chance to try their skills solving the same problem. This year's challenge was developed by engineers from ConocoPhillips.

The Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering (TAME) is a statewide non-profit organization dedicated to inspiring and preparing Texas students to join a strong and diverse STEM workforce. TAME programs encourage students to build skills and explore STEM concepts through hands-on activities, TAME Clubs, and statewide and divisional STEM Competitions.

The top six finishers in each test and the top three teams from the Engineering Design Challenge were recognized. Three teams also received a special Judges' Choice Award for creative problem solving. One student from each grade level was recognized as the Halliburton Ace Award Winner for the highest combined math and science score. 

Thanks to the support of TAME's 2019 Statewide STEM Competition sponsors ConocoPhillips and Halliburton, STEM Competitions across Texas are offered free of charge for all participants. We are especially grateful to TAME's 2019 San Antonio STEM Competition sponsors, Marathon Oil, the San Antonio Area Foundation, and Whataburger. TAME thanks our partners and our many dedicated volunteers for celebrating achievement in STEM and making learning fun and exciting for Texas students.

More information on TAME's STEM Competitions can be found here. If you have any questions or comments, please contact the leadership for the San Antonio Chapter.

Congratulations to all our hardworking competitors! 



Remember, please DO NOT SHARE any details or pictures of the top secret Engineering Design Challenge until March 3rd, 2019 so all students across the state can enjoy the same experience at later events. If you're sharing other photos of the event, please tag TAME using #LonestarSTEM.

If you took photos at the event, please consider sharing them with the TAME State Office. We will share selected pictures on the TAME Facebook page and with corporate and university partners who have ensured that the competition is offered free of cost to participants. You can email pictures to or upload them to Google Drive here.


stemcdiv 2019 0119 sanantonio jessegarzaawards 46 edit

Photo of Team 20, Engineering Design Challenge Judges' Choice winners by Jesse Garza from the 2019 San Antonio Divisional STEM Competition.

Facebook Album




1st Place2nd Place3rd Place4th Place5th Place6th Place
6th GradeRebecca Theraesa BlackburnMarshall Wilson Memphis PlanchonLuis R MirandaAnushka JainDaniela Olivo
7th GradeSunny ShenDean PlanchonMahasuin PuliSunyul KimCamilo MartinezMariah Rodriguez
8th GradeMilin TunsiricharoengulBenjamin SmothersAlan ShajiGavin AmuokArayind UdayakumarSahana Babu
9th GradeMatthew MooreJoyce LaiTessa UviedoIshita Raghuvanshi Carolyn DellEmma Keckler
10th GradeCayden MoySonia RaoErica HollisChelsea MoehleNickolas RodriguezRodrigo Covaxin
11th GradeLucas DavisAkruti ObhraiGisselle WashingtonNicholas MooreMaria MatamorosKristen Johnson
12th GradeCaiya WiltshireMcKayla TateSydney SommersJane ZinkZoe SueltenfussMelody Luckenbihl



1st Place2nd Place3rd Place4th Place5th Place6th Place
6th GradeMarshall Wilson Chole NicholsJohn-Thomas GomezMemphis PlanchonDante CortezLuis Carrillo
7th GradeTanisha BhatAadishree JainVictor HernandezSunny ShenEmily EsquivelMihir Ghawghawe
8th GradeArayind UdayakumarMilin TunsiricharoengulBrenda Romero-TorresAlinee Romero-TorresAlan ShajiGavin Amuok
9th GradeJoyce LaiIshita Raghuvanshi Carolyn DellUriel Miranda PrincipeGavin WiltshireVanessa Martinez
10th GradeSonia RaoIsidro PrunedaClaire MurleyKeith BakerCassandra TeneyucaAdrien Donley
11th GradeAkruti ObhraiJason DonesNicholas MooreMaria MatamorosGisselle WashingtonKristen Johnson
12th GradeAlexia JohnsonMcKayla TateKendalyn LytleZoe SueltenfussSydney SommersCarlos Lara



Combined Score
6th GradeMarshall Wilson
7th GradeSunny Shen
8th GradeMilin Tunsiricharoengul
9th GradeJoyce Lai
10th GradeSonia Rao
11th GradeAkruti Obhrai
12th GradeMcKayla Tate




1st Place2nd Place3rd PlaceJudges' Choice Judges' Choice Judges' Choice
Alinee Romero-TorresAnushka JainAlexandria SanchezAnn CyrilAbigail EscobedoAngelica Gonzalez-Ng
Brenda Romero-TorresJoshua HarshbargerGavin AmuokCarlos LaraKeith BakerBailey Buie
Jaslyn WebbJulianne BalderasJason DonesDean PlanchonKendalyn LytleDaniel Dorado
Rachel WrightMatthew VarnerKarissa CamposGabriella LaraLandon BattelliElena Ortega
Roberto OrozcoNicholas MooreOlivia ArredondoLuis LopezRolando CastrellonMackenzie Mosteffa
Tamia WeaverVictor HernandezVivian GarzaRose AlemanSeth Norman

2019 TAME East Texas STEM Competition Results
2019 TAME Capital Area STEM Competition Results

Related Posts